How to Cancel an Event

Cancel one or more bookings by opening an event and changing their status.

Overview

An event is comprised of one or more bookings. Each booking has a room, date, start time, end time, and status.  Cancelling an event is as simple as changing the status of all its bookings to one that has a Cancelled status type.  

You can also cancel one or more bookings while leaving others unchanged. You would do this if, for example, a requester decides that they won’t need a room on a particular date but still plans to use the other room(s) on the remaining date(s). 

When you cancel a booking, the space that the booking was holding is returned to the system as available for other events.  The system retains cancelled bookings for reporting purposes.

To cancel an event:

  1. Locate and open the event using Find Events, Open Event, or the Event Book.
  2.  Check the box next to the bookings to be changed. Use the checkbox at the top of the column to select/unselect all bookings. 
  3. Select Change Bookings > Change Status.
  4. Pick the appropriate status to cancel the bookings.
  5. Select a reason for the cancellation.
  6. Click Save.

Watch this video to see how bookings are cancelled.

Cancel Event